There is still time to RSVP for the hearing at 8 AM tomorrow morning. We are grateful for the growing list of people who will be joining us, but we understand that work and distance are prohibitive for some. If you would like to attend, please email me atdanielle@abolishdeathpenalty.org. If you cannot attend, please consider writing to the House Judiciary Committee members, urging them to support the passage of HB 1739 to the House Floor for a vote.

For information on how to do this, please visit our website. You will find a template on how to write to your legislators, so you can simply adapt it to be a bit more general. For example:

Dear Representative Kilduff,

I am writing in support of repeal of the death penalty. I urge you to vote to pass HB 1739 through the House Judiciary Committee. Thank you for your service to the State of Washington and for taking this issue seriously.

I believe the death penalty should be repealed because… (See the example linked above for more direction.)

If you could email this letter to each of the Representatives on the Committee, it would be extremely helpful. We also urge you to call after 7pm this evening to leave them a voicemail. It would be very powerful to have a voicemail box full of messages urging them to move HB 1739 out of the House Judiciary Committee and onto the House Floor. (If you are uncomfortable leaving voicemails, it may be easier to write something out first that you can then read.) The emails and phone numbers of the Committee members are listed below:

 

Name Email Phone Number
Laurie Jinkins laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7930
Christine Kilduff christine.kilduff@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7958
Jay Rodne jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7852
Matt Shea matt.shea@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7984
Roger Goodman roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7878
Larry Haler larry.haler@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7986
Drew Hansen drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7842
Steve Kirby steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7996
Brad Klippert brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7882
Dick Muri dick.muri@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7890
Tina Orwall tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7834
Drew Stokesbary drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7846
Brady Walkinshaw brady.walkinshaw@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7826

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me atdanielle@abolishdeathpenalty.org. Thank you for your participation!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone
Share →